10 of the World’s Most Beautiful Libraries!

Ever since 1991, the year Beauty and the Beast came to theatres, I have always had a fondness for libraries. (It’s the same feeling I get walking into Chapters, but better, because I can read library books for free!) If you’ve seen it, then you will know which scene I am referring to. But for those of you that haven’t, it is the scene where Beast blindfolds Belle, and leads her to a large dark room, where Beast begins to pulls back the drapes, exposing the sun to the multitude of never-ending bookshelves. There are books lining the walls, top to bottom, with the walls exceeding 50 feet in height. I get goosebumps just thinking about the first time I saw it! Ever since then, I have wanted a library of my own. A room filled with all my favourite authors, with the only part of the wall you can see, being the ceiling. That was the dream, and now that I am older, I know it will have to stay that way. But that does not mean I cannot discover other magnificent libraries that remember me of the one in Beauty and the Beast. And on that note here they are!!

                                                Abbey Library St. Gallen, Switzerland

Real Gabinete Portugues De Leitura, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Trinity College Library, aka The Long Room, Dublin, Ireland 

This one is my absolute favourite!! It looks like a reflection on the water. With the warm wood on the top and the cool colours down below. Absolutely beautiful!

Melk Monastery Library, Melk, Austria

Rijkmuseum Library, Amsterdam

Strahov Monastery – Theological Library, Prague, Czech Republic 

Biblioteca Geral University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal

Wiblingen Monastary Library, Ulm, Germany

Library of the Benedictine Monastery of Admont, Austria George Peabody Library, Baltimore, Maryland, USA 

In my research for amazing libraries I found so many fascinating images, from private libraries to more enticing libraries as well. So I have decided to keep this section, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Coming up soon, I will be doing a profile on a billionaires private library that will absolutely blow your mind!!

Source: http://www.oddee.com/item_96527.aspx

Leave a comment

Filed under Libraries

Leave a Reply

