Canada Reads 2012: The Five Finalists Revealed!

For the first time, this year’s Canada Reads theme is non-fiction.

This year’s contenders range from an astonishing story of survival, tour memoirs from a Canadian rocker, a behind-the-scenes look at what it is to be a hockey player in the NHL, a woman’s story of revolution and activism, and a deadly encounter between men and a vicious tiger.

The Canada Reads 2012 five finalists are:

Something Fierce by Carmen Aguirre
Defended by: Shad

On a Cold Road by Dave Bidini
Defended by: Stacey McKenzie

Prisoner of Tehran by Marina Nemat
Defended by: Arlene Dickinson

The Tiger by John Vaillant
Defended by: Anne-France Goldwater

The Game by Ken Dryden
Defended by: Alan Thicke

Canada Reads is CBC Radio One’s annual battle of the books, in which each Canadian title is represented – and “defended” – by a Canadian personality. The five books are discussed, examined and weighed against each other. Over the course of four days, the finalists are debated and voted out one by one, until a winner is declared.

This year’s debates will take place from February 6th to 9th in front of a live audience.

I watched the entire live stream of CBC’s Canada Reads on Wednesday, and I was convinced by each defender, why that book should win. By the end of the fifth nomination, I couldn’t decide which one I was rooting for. But then I thought– why am I going to take their word for it–I have a couple months before the winner is announced, and I have Christmas break coming up soon. So I have made it my mission to read through these books, and make my own decision on who should win. Starting with The Tiger by John Vaillant: one, because I already own it, and two, because so many people at Random House recommended this book to me, and I have been dying to read it. So I will keep you posted on my pick for Canada Reads 2012.

Do you have your own predictions for this year’s winner? Tell me what you think!

CBC’s full story on the books and panelists here.

Source: Kobo Books Blog

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction, Side Notes

Leave a Reply

