Life of Pi – Yann Martel

It feels like forever since I wrote a blog on an actual book. I have been so caught up in book designers and other literary delights– which I absolutely love–but I felt it was time to get back to what I love most.. Books! So after a long overdue hiatus I decided to write about a novel I am very fond of… Life of Pi.

I read this story a while ago, but seeing as I still haven’t found any time to finish Elegance of the Hedgehog, I thought I would write about another book that I absolutely adore!

This novel was rejected by at least five London publishing houses before being accepted by Knopf Canada, which published it in September 2001. The UK edition won the Man Booker Prize for Fiction the following year. It was also chosen for CBC Radio’s Canada Reads 2003, where it was championed by author Nancy Lee. The French translation, L’histoire de Pi, was chosen in the French version of the contest, Le combat des livres, where it was championed by Louise Forestier.  The novel won the 2003 Boeke Prize, a South African novel award. In 2004, it won the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature in Best Adult Fiction for years 2001–2003.

Life of Pi begins with a recount of Piscine Molitor “Pi” Patel home life in Pondicherry, India, where his father owns a zoo. The Patel family decides to move to Canada due to political concerns that have arisen in India. The father sells the majority of the animals, and heads to a new land, where his family will begin their new lives.

A few days after the small Japanese freighter left port the boat suddenly sinks. Pi ends up in a small lifeboat with a Bengal tiger named Richard Parker, a spotted hyena, an injured zebra, and an orangutan.

Even though this story is fictional, Yann Martel tries to keep some form of authenticity through the tale. So if you know anything about the animal kingdom, you should that these four animals in the wild would not get along… So on a tiny lifeboat the story is still the same.

The hungry hyena tears off the zebra’s leg, and spends the next several days eating the zebra bit by bit. The hyena also kills the orangutan. Richard Parker then kills and eats the hyena. Pi is left as the only other survivor. Pi finds food and water supplies on the boat, but as they grow scarce, Pi begins fishing. Pi feeds Richard Parker so that the tiger will not eat him. But Pi also wants to keep the tiger alive for some companionship; to avoid total solitude on the ocean.

Pi is along on this small lifeboat with Richard Parker; scared for his life. He cannot drink the salt water from the ocean. He is running out of food. He is hoping to be rescued, and on top of it all, he is hoping to not be eaten by the adult male Bengal Tiger that is sharing the same lifeboat as him.

This story is gripping and keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. Your heart is in you throat, fearful as to what will happen next.

I have read this story three times myself, and I am on my second copy because I lent the first copy out to so many friends that it had to be replaced.

I would recommend this book for all! It is a great read and will take you no time at all to get through it. I could not put it down and I promise you won’t be able to either!

ENJOY!

Source : Life of Pi 

4 Comments

Filed under Fiction

4 responses to “Life of Pi – Yann Martel

  1. I’ve noticed that my Life of Pi blog has been very popular! Just to let everyone know. If you have any questions regarding the book, please let me know. 🙂 I’d be happy to help.

  2. Jeroen

    Great book indeed. I hope you can help me find the artist who made the illustration of the animals in the boat. I can’t locate the original on the site mentioned in the left corner. Thanks very much.

  3. Jeroen

    thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

