Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!!!

Happy 108th birthday to Dr. Seuss today!!!

Theodor Seuss Geisel (March 2, 1904 – September 24, 1991) was an American writer, poet, and cartoonist most widely known for his children’s books written under the pen names Dr. SeussTheo LeSieg and, in one case, Rosetta Stone.

He published 46 children’s books, which were often characterized by imaginative characters, rhyme, and frequent use of trisyllabic meter. His most celebrated books include the bestselling Green Eggs and HamThe Cat in the HatOne Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue FishHorton Hatches the EggHorton Hears a Who!, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas!. Numerous adaptations of his work have been created, including 11 television specials, four feature films, a Broadway musical and four television series. He won the Lewis Carroll Shelf Award in 1958 for Horton Hatches the Egg and again in 1961 for And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street.

Dr. Seuss’ birthday, March 2, has been adopted as the annual date for National Read Across America Day, an initiative on reading created by the National Education Association.

(Dr. Seuss)

In lieu of Dr. Seuss’s birthday I thought I would take an excerpt from his book entitled Happy Birthday to You.

If we didn’t have birthdays, you wouldn’t be you.
If you’d never been born, well then what would you do?
If you’d never been born, well then what would you be?
You might be a fish! Or a toad in a tree!
You might be a doorknob! Or three baked potatoes!
You might be a bag full of hard green tomatoes.
Or worse than all that… Why you might be a WASN’T!
A Wasn’t has no fun at all. No, he doesn’t.
A Wasn’t just isn’t. He just isn’t present.
But you… You ARE YOU! And, now isn’t that pleasant!

So we’ll go to the top of the toppest blue space,
The Official Katroo Birthday Sounding-Off Place!
Come on! Open your mouth and sound off at the sky!
Shout loud at the top of your voice, “I AM I!
ME!
I am I!
And I may not know why
But I know that I like it.
Three cheers! I AM I!”

Dr. Seuss was one of a kind! We all grew up reading his books, my favourite being One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish. Even though at the end, the creature the child found, and name Clark, in the over-sized perfume bottle, always terrified me for some reason.

What’s your favourite Dr. Seuss book??

ENJOY!!

2 Comments

Filed under Side Notes

2 responses to “Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!!!

  1. I thought it would be easy to pick my favorite Dr. Seuss book, but it’s not! My top three would have to be: One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, Green Eggs and Ham and Are You My Mother?
    The picture of all his books arranged in the colors of the rainbow make me want to go out and buy them all and recreate it!

  2. I read I Can Read With My Eyes Shut with my niece last week. I hadn’t read that one as a kid and it was so cute and had a great message. “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

Leave a Reply

