The Sense of an Ending – Julian Barnes

This past week has been phenomenal! I started my internship at McArthur & Company, which is a publishing company based out of Toronto, and let me tell you, it has been great! I am loving my commute to and from work everyday (not many people can say that lol). It gives me 2 hours in total to read on the train, and now I am flying through books! I only wish I had more time to write all my reviews! 🙂 But I am fortunate that I have today off!! So I thought I would let you know about an amazing book — The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes.

The Sense of an Ending is the 2011 Man Booker Prize winner, as well as an international bestseller, and I can definitely see why! This novel is very thought-provoking, extremely well written and it gives the reader a sense of their own mortality(Which is not always considered a good thing, but in this case, it is).

“What you end up remembering isn’t always the same as what you have witnessed,” muses Tony Webster at the beginning of the tale. Tony Webster is the lead character. We observe him throughout part of his high school career, as well as his retirement. The majority of the story is set in his later years, re-examining the tragedies that have occurred in his past. How instances in our lives shape and affect people, and how we might not even realize it. 

There is death, camaraderie, emotion and a hunt for answers to so many questions left without reply. (There is so much to tell, but I would never give anything away, even if it was a small detail). I would not wish to ruin any part of your reading experience. But there is a some hardship that overcomes Tony Webster in the beginning of his high school life that leaves him lost and confused. Hoping that one day he might find out the cause behind it all. 

What if you have questions for someone who is no longer around? Then one day, thirty years or more later, there is a glimmer of hope that you might find what you have been searching for?

I tried not to be too distracted by inferring what the answers were myself. But I was absolutely shocked in the end of what all came about! 

I hate to be so vague and leave you with such little information, but I do not want to wreck one moment of your reading experience, and trust me if you read this book you will not be disappointed! 

Here are some reviews:

“The book’s plot reads like that of a thriller paperbackfull of vengeful ex-girlfriends, youth suicide and illicit sex–though it’s Barnes’ masochistically lyrical insights on loss and memory that drives this novel’s recruiting fan base to keep flipping back the pages.” ~Forbes Book Review

“One of the novel’s persistent joys is how much mystery, nuance and pathos Barnes draws from his narrator’s pedantic but self-serving memories, without showing the reader his narrative hand. Barnes artfully teases the reader from the first page, following each revelation and dramatic incident with another round of Tony’s increasingly existential life reflections.” ~The Star

ENJOY!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

