The Lola Quartet – Emily St. John Mandel

I want to begin this post by letting you know how sorry I am for the delay. I don’t need to tell you how crazy the summer time gets for social events especially when you are my age. Every weekend is book until August with weddings, bachelorettes, bridal showers, baby showers and if I can get a chance, a cottage weekend. 

Also, you will be happy to know that I graduated from the Book & Magazine program with honours in April, and as of June 1st I am officially working in marketing & publicity at a book publisher in Toronto. So needless to say that has been time-consuming as well. But the best part–other than working in the most amazing line of work ever–is that I commute to work on the train everyday and it has given me ample time to read, which I obviously love! So just because I haven’t been blogging recently does not mean I’ve been slacking in the reading department. I have read six books in the past six weeks and I can’t wait to tell you about them all! There hasn’t been a dud in the bunch! Apparently, I know how to pick’em! 🙂

The first one I am dying to tell you about is The Lola Quartet by Emily St. John Mandel. I flew through this book in days. It was such a great read.

It’s about a journalist in New York who is fired in disgrace, because of some horrible decisions on his part in his quality of reporting. (Can you tell I am trying to avoid telling you what actually happened? lol) This is the catalyst for a downward spiral of horrible things to come. I can’t even begin to tell you how bad!

The lead character, Gavin Sasaki, has no money, no job and no prospects for the future. So against everything his mind, body and soul were telling him, he decides to move back home to Sebastian, Florida–away from the glitz and glam of New York City–and move in with his sister, Elio.

Elio gets him a job working with her; she’s a real estate broker who deals in foreclosed homes (trust me, there is a reason I’m telling you this lol). And a couple of weeks ago while she was visiting a house she noticed a girl who looked very similar to Gavin, and the little girl even had the same last name as Gavin’s high school sweetheart Anna. (Strange right?)

So Gavin–who is alone and trying to find himself again after losing everything in his life–begins on his own private investigation to track down his ex and this little girl, to find out if she really is his offspring. But Gavin finds out that there is more to this whole story then he could ever imagine, and things start to get dangerous! Dum dum dummm….

The Lola Quartet is a work of literary noir, is concerned with jazz, Django Reinhardt, economic collapse, friendship and love, Florida’s wildlife problem, fedoras, and the unreliability of memory

There are aspects of this book that would appeal to jazz fans out there. Even if you’re not a fan of jazz I would suggest YouTube Django and listen to just one of his songs and it will make a jazz lover out of you yet! But not to worry you don’t have to be a jazz fan to absolutely love this book. It has more to do with mystery and intrigue. The jazz is just am added bonus. But there is so much I wish I could tell you, but I don’t want to ruin a single moment. So go out and read it for yourself!! 

P.S. I got to meet Emily St. John Mandel and she is absolutely amazing! She even signed a copy of her book for me!! 

image

I could go on and on about how she has gotten rave reviews for this book by The National Post, The Globe and Mail and The New Yorker. Also, The Lola Quartet was chosen as May 2012 Indie Next pick. But you didn’t need to know all of that.. You were already on your way out the door to go pick up this book as we speak! See! I knew it! 🙂

ENJOY!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

