One Bloody Thing After Another – Joey Comeau

I don’t know where to begin with this pseudo-horror novel. Don’t get me wrong I did enjoy it, even though it only took me a mere couple hours to complete (with only 160 pages in all and not all of them have words on them). I would definitely recommend it for a quick read to boost your Book Pledge Challenge. (hehehe yes that is what I did).

There was something unique and kind of special about how this book was compiled. I am not going to tell you too much, but there is a secret message being told throughout the entire book. It took me a couple of chapters to see it, I guess I was reading so quickly I overlooked the first couple words in the message. But I thoroughly enjoyed it.

This novel is based on three main characters: Jackie, Ann and an old man named Charlie:

Jackie has a map of the city on the wall of her bedroom, with a green pin for each of her trees. She has a first-kiss tree and a broken-arm tree. She has a car-accident tree. There is a tree at the hospital where Jackie’s mother passed away into the long good night. When one of them gets cut down, Jackie doesn’t know what to do but she doesn’t let that stop her. She picks up the biggest rock she can carry and puts it through the window of a car. Smash. She intends to leave before the police arrive, but they’re early. (As you can tell Jackie is kinda of psychotic and she is discovering her sexuality throughout this novel.)

Ann is Jackie’s best friend, but she’s got problems of her own. Her mother is chained up in the basement. How do you bring that up in casual conversation? “Oh, sorry I’ve been so distant, Jackie. My mother has more teeth than she’s supposed to, and she won’t eat anything that’s already dead.” Ann and her sister Margaret don’t have much of a choice here. Their mother needs to be fed. It isn’t easy but this is family. It’s not supposed to be easy. It’ll be okay as long as Margaret and Ann still have each other. (This part is a little disturbing and upsetting, it is definitely not meant for the kindhearted to read.)

Add in a cantankerous old man, his powerfully stupid dog, a headless ghost, a lesbian crush and a few unsettling visits from Jackie’s own dead mother, and you’ll find that One Bloody Thing After Another is a different sort of horror novel from the ones you’re used to. (I find in this description of the book they leave out a lot to do with the headless ghost, but she is the creepiest and by far the central part of this novel. But I guess they did not want to give too much away and neither do I.)

If you are into creepy, weird horror novels this one is sure to not disappoint.

ENJOY!!

(Source: Goodreads)

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction - Horror

Leave a Reply

