The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce

Oh my goodness!! I am usually not a fan of anything that makes me cry, but I will make this an exception. I will not tell you if they were tears of joy or tears of sadness. But for the last 20 pages I had a Kleenex in my hand.

I loved this book. It was such an emotional, thought-provoking story.

I thought that the jacket was  sort of a spoiler in a sense. It mentions that Harold Fry walks 627 miles in 87 days. I guess we aren’t supposed to be wondering if he makes it or not. But it’s not the journey but the life-changing experience he has on the adventure.

This book really made me self-reflective; pondering things in my life that Harold was wondering as well. How quickly time passes and decisions in our lives we aren’t proud of–realizing that no matter how old we are it is never too late. I know it sounds very cliché, but the realization of these moments seem more profound when Harold is saying them. hehehe.

Other than Harold’s mantra “just put one foot in front of the other”, that was the only thing that sort of rubbed me the wrong way. Excessive repetition is a pet peeve of mine. But other than that The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is definitely worth the read! It was lovely!

ENJOY!!

3 Comments

Filed under Fiction

3 responses to “The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce

  1. LR

    I also loved this book and I sat with the tissues beside me the WHOLE time I read it!

  2. Pingback: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot | Crack A Book

  3. Pingback: The Love Song of Queenie Hennessey – Rachel Joyce | Crack A Book

Leave a Reply

