Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops – Jen Campbell

tbm_bookshop-cover-front-v1If you like to chuckle at the absurdity and imbecility of other human beings, this book will leave you howling. But there are some stories that will leave you scratching your head, wondering to yourself how someone could be so daft, but either way you will thoroughly enjoy this book, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops.

“A John Cleese Twitter question [‘What is your pet peeve?’], first sparked the “Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops” blog, which grew over three years into one bookseller’s collection of ridiculous conversations on the shop floor.” Comparable to The Book of Awesome, but the majority of stories happened to her.

The only disappointing part of my reading experience was that it was over too quickly. I read the whole book in 45 minutes (my entire train ride home). I laughed out loud and didn’t care. By now the other commuters should be used to my roaring laughter, because I have been on a comedy kick for a couple of months now—Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And currently, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened to name a couple.

moreBut don’t fret! Jen announced on her blog that there is a sequel in the works!! More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops is said to be hitting bookstores April 2013!! And I can’t wait!!

If you are not persuaded by now, then the only other way to get you to believe how funny this book actually is, is to give you a quick glimpse into what you are in for:

‘Can books conduct electricity?’

‘My children are just climbing your bookshelves: that’s ok… isn’t it?’

There are tons more!

From ‘Did Beatrix Potter ever write a book about dinosaurs?’ to the hunt for a paperback which could forecast the next year’s weather; and from ‘I’ve forgotten my glasses, please read me the first chapter’ to ‘Excuse me… is this book edible?’

And this isn’t even the tip of the iceberg. I didn’t want to spoil too much so the best is yet to come! So enjoy and laugh a little!

(Source: Book jacket)

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

