Man’s Search for Meaning – Viktor E. Frankl

mans search for meaning

This was a hard review to write. I enjoyed the first part of the book. It was a great story of strength, perseverance and the acceptance of fate of a doctor who was a prisoner in Auschwitz. But in part II I wasn’t as entranced. I wasn’t expecting the book to be laid out this way. It was a psychological analysis of the meaning of life, using prisoner’s experiences in Auschwitz as the platform for his basis on how humans react to the extreme conditions such as the ones they had to overcome at the concentration camps in Germany.  It was interesting, don’t get me wrong. I guess I was just looking for something else. I was more interested in the life story of Viktor E. Frankl than anything else.

BUCHENWALDI did like the book overall. I had to keep stopping myself mid-paragraph to ingest what I was reading and to remind myself this is not a fictitious tale but this is the truth of the horrific conditions of what these people were subjected to. I forced myself to appreciate what I was reading and not just gloss over it like another horror novel that we are so desensitized to. I am so used to reminding myself while watching gory movies, this is just a movie. This isn’t real. But in this instance I was trying to do the opposite.

It was very humbling. I would definitely recommend this book if you are interested in psychology and how are psyche reacts to the most demeaning, horrendous and dreadful of situations.

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

