The Love Song of Queenie Hennessey – Rachel Joyce

the-love-song-of-miss-queenie-hennessy

I was so excited for this book to be released. So excited I borrowed an advance copy from a co-worker, before he even had a chance to read it.

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is one of my favourite fictional tales. I laughed, I cried, I wrote a blog post.

In saying that, I probably had my hopes up a little too much for The Love Song of Queenie Hennessey.

I liked how we saw the tale of Harold Fry from Queenie’s side. I wish I reread The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry before I read this book. There was a lot of I have forgotten, like Harold sneaking into the brewery and smashing the clowns, for instance.  

My favourite part of the book was the ending. It was spectacular!! I was definitely thrown for a curve!! I loved it and hated it at the same time! (You’ll see why!)

I probably would have enjoyed the book a little more if I didn’t have David’s story (Harold’s son) happen in my life recently. It was very hard to read and had skewed my view on the book because it was very emotional for me.

Throughout the tale I was frustrated with Queenie and the way she chose to live her life. I wanted more for her. I couldn’t get beyond her spinster ways. I guess because she is so different from me and I couldn’t relate. I wanted to shake her and take her out and find her a man to love, other than Harold.

Overall, I do recommend this book and Harold Fry will always hold a place in my heart.

01f8d9cb42a1b658f366a15174292a3c

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

